Giraffe watching and hooking.

Along with thousands around the world, I am slightly addicted to watching and waiting for April the giraffe to have her baby. This event is being streamed live via YouTube . While I am keeping a close eye on the mamma-to-be, I am also taking time to make a new project which I have named ‘April’ in honour of the one and only mentioned above.

Pinterest has came in handy again, as well as eBay for the supplies for this project. I am following a pattern which I pinned a few weeks ago in anticipation of my yarn arriving from China. You can find the pattern here.

What I love about this project is that I am constantly learning new stitches and finding that I am quite clever for someone who has only been hooking for less than a year!

20170315_143351

As I mentioned, I got my yarn supplies from eBay. The are imported from China and take a while to get to me in Australia but well worth the wait! At $1 for a 25g ball of soft Bamboo and free postage, I will take a 2-3 week wait for delivery! My first order arrived about 2 weeks ago. I ordered 32 balls in some fantastic colours. I have since ordered 32 more in different colours and they should hopefully arrive in the coming days.

I made the foundation chain following the instructions and had to undo the first row after that as I was a silly nong and didn’t turn my chain, so I was working in a backwards way and missed quite a few stitches. I corrected my mistakes, and now I am flying through. I say flying, but really I am up to row 32 of 177! I still have a long way to go.

My granny square project I was working on has been gifted to a friend who is having a baby in August. I loved handing over my very first completed blanket project and she has since sent me a photo of it sitting on the back of her rocking chair in the nursery.

20170315_114014
This is how far I made it before I had to start again!
20170316_102613
Second attempt, complete with stitch markers so I know exactly where I need to be.
20170318_114702
I made it past the first stopping point. The spaced out bobble stitches were time consuming so I was a little annoyed when I had to undo the first lot I done.
20170320_134001
Added the Granny rows and the Waves next.
20170325_091018
The struggle is real my friends! So close, but yet so far.
Resized_20170325_092941
Awesome colours right?
Resized_20170325_095003
32 rows down…

Stay tuned for progress reports as I work my way through this project.

Leave a Reply

